Blogger advise, Blogging, Deleting Google+, Google+, Google+ advise before deleting your account, Google+ closure, Google+ shutdown

Advise for Blogger blogs owners.





 As you must know, Google+ had two massive data breaches this year, which ended up accelerating the closure.

First: 

Second: 

The Official Google blog stated:

"With the discovery of this new bug, we have decided to expedite the shut-down of all Google+ APIs; this will occur within the next 90 days. In addition, we have also decided to accelerate the sunsetting of consumer Google+ from August 2019 to April 2019."
Google blog


And I found a lot of articles about the procedure to close your Google+ account.

And I did it:

You can delete your Google+ profile any time by going to http://plus.google.com/downgrade, signing in, and following the instructions on that page. If you see an upgrade page, you don't have a Google+ profile.

If you want to do it, here is the link:

https://support.google.com/plus/answer/6320423?hl=en

They say none of the products will be affected. But it is not totally true.

In these times the word Truth must be written in lowercase.

If you are a Blogger user, maybe in some stage of getting the Google+ profile you linked your Blogger blog with your Google+ profile.

Yesterday, I tried to delete my Google+. I followed the link and hit Delete. Super sure & cool. But when I tried to check my Blogger blog, where I am super active these days, I was not able to sign-in. A slow sweat drop sliding on my left temple.

Do you know you can not restore your Google+ profile and data? Isn't it?



I went to get help in the Google forums. No one. A tumbleweed hit my leg. It was time to go back home, honey.

Well, I created a  new Google+ profile and the problem was solved.

Then the first thing you have to do is to unlink your Blogger blog and your Google+ profile before the total extermination process.

Here is how to:

1.- Unlink your Google+ profile of your Blogger blog:

Sign in to Blogger.

In the left menu, click Settings and then Posts, comments and sharing settings.

Under “Google+ Comments ”, choose “No”

Under “Share to Google+ ”, choose “Google+ disabled”

In the top right, click Save settings.

Like this:

Blogger advise, Blogging, Deleting Google+, Google+, Google+ advise before deleting your account, Google+ closure, Google+ shutdown



2.- Use your Blogger profile instead of the Google+ one:

Sign in to Blogger.

In the left menu, click Settings and then User settings.

Under “General,” next to “User Profile,” choose “Blogger.”

In the top right, click Save settings.

https://support.google.com/blogger/answer/41375



I am going to keep my Google+ profile inactive and I am going to wait for the end of times, aka, Googleplusopocalipse in April the next year, just in case.

I hope this advise will be useful for the bloggers out there. Blogger is a super easy and free option for blogging. I have customized everything on it and is reliable (feeling deezy saying that word). I hope Google will keep the platform alive for long time.


Behind the Scenes


Font in use: Aviator by Vintage Voyage Design Co. at Design Cuts.
The cover illustration of this article is obviously, mine.







Leave a Reply

.....^.....